provokeit

provoking what happens in IT

when poaching is uncool

this week has been a killer week for me. I nearly lost all of my infrastructure team. and as far as I am concerned, without a decent infrastructure team in place, you may as well pack up your bat and ball and call it a day.

so we’ve been making some redundancies in our business overall – not related to IT at all, but to the rest of the fat in the business. however, a vendor that we use for some of our equipment that just happens to run a national outsourcing business, oversaw some of the redunandancies being made in the business while on a visit.

that prompted the vendor to dangle the carrot at my infrastructure manager. while I cannot stop him from going, the vendor’s approach is way uncool. and I don’t mind my guys leaving either on their own volition. I just don’t expect our vendors to see my IT group as a poaching ground, especially when I am paying them to provide me with a service.

this cascaded with 2 of the other members deciding to call it a day because their manager was going. 

to add insult to injury, the vendor came our corporate box at a sporting event on the day before the resignation was presented to me, being all ‘pally’ and ‘we should catch up sometime’.

yeah we should, starting with my fucking hands wrapped firmly around your fucking neck pal.

suffice to say, we are in the process of reviewing all of the contracts that we have with that vendor. 

the end process is that I have had to review the contracts of all of the members within the team and increase salaries to ensure that they will stay and keep the business operational. while the cost has not come to 6 figures, it has come scarily close.

October 26, 2006 Posted by | Blogroll, technology | 2 Comments