provokeit

provoking what happens in IT

dogs breakfast for dating

on the weekend I submitted my information to fairfax publishing to obtain a user id that I never wanted, just so that my wife and I could check out houses online through domain.com.au and store them temporarily (in a checklist).

so for that I get bombarded now with fairfax’s self promoting material about their sites.

today’s episode is how they have now just released a new site for fairfax’s acquisition of rvsp.com.au

I have to tell you, these guys should not have written to me. I would be ashamed to call this a new site. it’s disgusting in layout and design and something I would have expected in 1997.

the ‘new on rsvp this week’ depicts three photos of people who, quite frankly, are not attracting me in any way shape or form to the site.

call this harsh, but bugger me, with so many sites on the web now that have great design, especially with all of these funky web 2.0 sites, bad design for a major commercial site with a claimed 900,000 members, is just not on.

in fact, it’s nothing short of disgusting and if they were working for today, they wouldn’t be.

November 16, 2006 - Posted by | Blogroll, technology

3 Comments »

  1. Not sure if you’re familiar with http://www.bugmenot.com?

    If you don’t want to sign up to a site just so you can browse the content – this is for you.

    Wouldn’t have been any use for the above though, as you of course need personalisation so you can get your lists, but it’s great when you want to read some of the US newspapers that require a sign-on.

    Comment by Benn | November 20, 2006

  2. Benn – you can also use http://www.2prong.com – it has a very quick way of providing an email address on the fly for you as well.
    Thanks to the Roosters Rail – see sidebar – for this one.
    j

    Comment by provokeit | November 20, 2006

  3. Jason I missed this post somehow, but the service 2 prong was covered in the podcast. Again the link is in the sidebar 😉

    Comment by The Rooster | December 5, 2006


Leave a Reply

