provokeit

provoking what happens in IT

linux and my monitor – the surliness begins

so I stoopidly thought that linux would be able to install my widescreen monitor without any issue. wrong.

after installing a radeon graphics card; pretty good spec too, linux could not run the linux drivers for it properly. forums later and the suggestion is to use another graphics card. that’s cool. I can handle the $200 waste on a good card to meet an o/s.

the next step is take out the offending widescreen monitor and replace with a 19″ flat screen. (yes I know some of you are going to say tech wanker for having all of this gear, but remember, I have an IT shop at my disposal).  the result – linux cannot give up the old settings it stored for the widescreen. so trying to open the graphics card software just fails because the screen displays in the middle of the old screen resolution and cannot be resized at all.

stoopid fucking thing – there I said it.

you have to get this stuff right when setting up a machine. the last time I had this sort of issue was trying to get a VGA screen to take to 386. I thought the world had progressed?

so now my linux box is sitting doing nothing because I have the shits and gone back to my faster windows machine.

October 22, 2006 - Posted by | Blogroll, technology

3 Comments »

  1. linux vs.windows webhosting.???
    I wondered which should be used for dynamics sites using flash css javascript forms etc.
    I was looking at this companies corporate plan and would like to have the option to set up several seperate websites for different customers
    assigning each an allotment of space with seperate access by them and allowing me access is this site suitable for my needs or is it as it seems just too good to be true???

    Comment by Kade | December 2, 2006

  2. Kade

    I am not sure that I can make this distinction for you. Myself I have a few servers for different site in both IIS and Linux. It depends on what your webhosting is going to consist of.

    What you are wanting to do is capable under either platform and there are some open source products / projects for both platforms that can help you do what you want.

    It just comes down to your preference and the pricing – generally you’ll find the linux proposal cheaper because there are more of them and the Sys Admin overhead for them is less.

    Hope this helps.

    J

    Comment by provokeit | December 4, 2006

  3. It sucks the compatibility issues you are having but linux I belive is the future! Windows also has its issues and problems though and is way inferior when compared to linux.

    Comment by Alojamento Sites | February 17, 2007


Leave a Reply

