provokeit

provoking what happens in IT

slamdunk on vista and office 2007 licensing

I’m not too happy with vista. apart from a number of technical things, it’s licensing model is still short sighted.

software assurance for xp was very shortsighted in it’s approach – from memory when I did a refresh of our environment it was an extra $80 per license per year which meant we could upgrade to vista for nothing when it was released. in my direct environment this would have been a wasted cost $48k for upgrades that never happened throughout the life of the lease of the equipment. and microsoft has outwardly stated that they will not be recompensing anyone for their software assurance and vista issue.

office upgrade provisions fall in the same category I have read.

next year I ditch my current machines and renew the lease with new equipment. most likely they will come with vista, if microsoft’s vista propoganda (sorry product) management team can deliver in jan 07.

I have started to tell some of my tech staff that some machines on the floor, for the light office users, will most likely come with openoffice.org on them rather than ms office. that’s $400 per machine saving. we’ll see how it goes and I’ll let you know 🙂  (and I know richard giles is going “convert to mac” somewhere in the background…)

will I be tempted by software assurance this time round? hmmm…

September 22, 2006 - Posted by | Blogroll, technology

2 Comments »

  1. Convert to Mac 😛

    Comment by Richard Giles | September 30, 2006

  2. come on, you know deep in your heart that there is only one standard…apple are just trying to lure us away from it with well designed looking devices…

    Comment by provokeit | October 2, 2006


Leave a Reply

