provokeit

provoking what happens in IT

the first slam dunk

i am known for my slamming of some companies. however, I have to admit that in slamming them, I use them.

now i don’t slam them for the sake of slamming their brand or all of the products that they build – just individual products or methodologies that they choose to engage in – either building or selling.

take the classic easy slam – microsoft. in my organisation we are a microsoft shop from end to end. right from the desktop to the financials packages we use. heck we even build our own software and we use microsoft .net to produce these products. so by and large I engage with microsoft on a number of levels at a business level.

in my own private business I use microsoft’s small business accounting to look after my business because it’s a great easy package that can be changed without much fuss and has a much non-repudiation concepts that a small business needs without employing a developer when something needs to be customised.

however, i will go to town on the new office 2007 beta 2 release. word and powerpoint work well. I like the export to pdf function. the functionality shift was a bit naf to start with – it was if the usability guys said “how can we effectively screw with people’s minds in this release?”

outlook on the other hand is another kettle of fish – I am running a pop3 account through it on a full microsoft machine – nothing foreign from anyone else and it runs on xp pro. so microsoft can’t hammer me there. but it runs like crap. everytime I want to send new emails, the second email in the series will cause outlook to crash and restart. if you go to reply to or forward an email from the tool bar when viewing emails from the the main pane, outlook crashes. I could go on, but I think you get the hint.

so now I am scared to open excel to see if the formula engines are going to be corrupt. so just the pretty presentations for me at the moment thanks.

office 2003 is fairly consistent and without major functionality issue. what happened here? I release software to a very large group of people each month – and my software handles over $1billion per year in transactions. if I released software without the standard functionality working I would not be occupying my position for very long.

where did the line “don’t go backwards” fail to appear in the project plan with the Microsoft guys with this release? I accept that beta releases will have bugs in it. but let’s face it, 95% of users only use 15% of the office suite – and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work it all out.

September 19, 2006 - Posted by | Blogroll, technology

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

